Hello, My Name is Sarah Bubar, and I am a Blogger!

The confession that I have a sarcastic nature will not shock those of you who know me. Because of this, my sense of humor is drawn to websites like despair.com. I discovered it several years ago and often times I swing by to find a new favorite quote or a status update for my Facebook like it’s an old friend I’m meeting for coffee and a laugh. One quote about blogging I find particularly humorous even still as we five women embark on this new adventure the Lord has put before us. It reads, “Blogging: Never before have so many people with so little to say said so much to so few.” Hilarious, right? Go ahead, laugh, it’s funny. And yet, like with most sarcastic phrases, there is a stab at truth lying underneath it. A hint of something not so funny is there.

I was approached by a friend of mine (a co-blogger) about starting this unique ministry more than two months ago. I laughed at first; I’m not gonna lie. Partly because I heard this quote in my head and felt a flood of adverse feelings on the subject come flowing to my mind, and partly because I have never really thought of myself as the “blogging-type.” But like any good seminary student, the words, “sure, I’ll pray about it” came flowing out of my mouth without even thinking about it. So there I was, stuck praying about something I had no intention of saying “yes” to. But I, being a woman of my word, started praying about it. I started to ask God if this was something He wanted us to do that He would make it clear to us. It only took Him two weeks to truly convince me. It started slowly; my heart just softened to the idea and it wasn’t so hostile towards it. But that phrase still kept popping into my head, “so many people with so little to say.” I didn’t want us to be just one more among the masses throwing their daily ramblings out into the cyber world with no accountability, focus or aim. If we were going to do this, it had to be different. It had to be from GOD, not from us.

That’s when I found 1 Tim 6:20–21. I’m not even sure why I was there; I was probably looking for something else. But nonetheless, there it was and God used it to convict me, as if it jumped right off the pages and beat me upside the head. Listen to how the Amplified version phrases it. “O Timothy, guard and keep the deposit entrusted [to you]! Turn away from the irreverent babble and godless chatter, with the vain and empty and worldly phrases, and the subtleties and the contradictions in what is falsely called knowledge and spiritual illumination. [For] by making such profession some have erred (missed the mark) as regards the faith. Grace (divine favor and blessing) be with you all! Amen (so be it).” I put my Bible down and thought…that’s it! That’s our purpose. Paul’s charge to Timothy “to guard and keep the deposit entrusted to him” rings true to the next generation of women leaders in the church. The five of us contributing to this endeavor have truly been blessed by God with much. We all have been largely influenced by women who have previously stood where we now stand and it is now our turn to step up to the plate, guard and keep that which we have been given. Paul goes on to balance out the exhortation to Timothy by telling him what to stay away from: “Turn away from the irreverent babble and godless chatter, with the vain and empty and worldly phrases, and the subtleties and the contradictions in what is falsely called knowledge and spiritual illumination.” This is what we will endeavor to do. And we would ask, as our readers, that you would hold us to it. Our goal is not to talk about nothing; rather we wish to give the next generation, who may not have the time or opportunity to study like we have been given, a tool or resource to go to and learn what Scripture says about society, culture, missions, church involvement, our daily lives, and what our role and purpose as women should be. Our views may not always be popular, but, Lord willing, they will always be backed by the Word of God. Our prayer would be that we would not be among the masses of people “with so little to say saying so much to so few” but instead we would like Timothy, be “guarding and keeping the deposit entrusted to us” redefining the term of bloggers to “So few people with so much to say to so many”.

11 thoughts on “Hello, My Name is Sarah Bubar, and I am a Blogger!

  1. So after reading this Ithought how fitting it is that you are blogging.Another thought was how God has given you Godly women as fine examples.Gram,our mom,me(hopefully)to teach the younger women anad now you continue the legacy!Not bad of a heritage.Gram always had such a wonderful prayer life and I have learned to start my own list as she did.It is exciting to see God work in your life and your friends life. I will now add this blog to my daily prayers that many may grow and learn from this. Love you ,”Auntie Margaret”

  2. Hey Sarah! It was so good to read your “message”. I have to be honest, I don’t really get into blogging, but I wanted to read what you had to say. And even though I haven’t seen or talked to you in a few years (college)…I remember your humor and it made me smile.

    Anyway, thank you for the verse in I Tim. “irreverant babble and godless chatter.” Wow, that phrase jumped out at me…I’m going to go study that verse right now.

    Well, thanks for the encouragement. I am so excited to read more of what you are learning.

    Ashley

  3. Sarah, YOU?? SARCASTIC??? Never! Ha . This is such an exciting opportunity and awesome idea. Keep me updated when new stuff comes out. So “proud” of you in a humble, godly way

    Love ya,
    Melis

  4. Sarah, you got my attention when I was a teenager…I read this and you have my attention now. Im not in church, havent been in years and reading your words… I almost remember what it feels like to know what my purpose is…crazy I know but THANKYOU!!! I look forward to continue reading what God puts on your heart to share with the rest of us fabulous women!

  5. Sarah, I can’t explain how much I miss you and “therapy.” God has used you in such amazing and indescribable ways in changing my life, my outlook on life, and my heart. This “blog” has brought me back to remembering and missing the wonderful woman of God that He has used for miracles. This is such a great idea and I hope God speaks through you and teaches you so much through this new blogging experience, in the process of teaching others. I look forward to reading and learning more. Thank You for being open to God! I love you!

  6. “Our views may not always be popular, but, Lord willing, they will always be backed by the Word of God.”

    I’ll hold you to that statement!

    Look forward to reading your blog. To God be the glory!

    “So we, numerous as we are, are one body in Christ and individually we are parts one of another.” Romans 12:5

  7. whats up durks? loving the blog. i always enjoyed your writing since pretty much anything you write sounds exactly like the way you talk. anyway good luck with this, you’re going to be grrrrrreeeat! thanks for your wisdom, always giving me something to think about

  8. Hi Sarah! There is such a need for this! I have had so many conversations with women who really need encouragment in leadership and in being all that God created them to be. I will definately be following this blog. Thanks Sarah! Oh…one quick question…what’s wrong with being sarcastic?

  9. Sarah, wow I miss your wisdom and encouragement in my life so much. I am so excited about this site and sharing it with the girls in my youth group! You have made such a difference in my life and I thank you so much for that. I look forward to gaining more insight from you about this whole thing. I have been wanting to talk to the girls in my youth group about their worth and role in this world but I didn;t know how to go about it. This is great!

Leave a Reply

