What Are Women Worth?

  • DoYouknowaboutanimaIn Colombia, one woman is murdered by her partner or former partner every six days.
  • 8 out of 10 women in Afghanistan are suffering from domestic violence, either by a husband or male family member.
  • It is estimated that, worldwide, one in five women will become a victim of rape in her lifetime.
  • Between 500,000 to 2M people, the majority of them women and children, are trafficked annually.
  • 60% of Afghan girls are forced into marriage as children, as young as 9 years old.

These statistics used to be just numbers to me, but not anymore. I have looked into their eyes. I have had coffee in their living rooms. I have held their newborn babies. They aren’t statistics anymore, they are my friends.

My heart is broken for the women of the world. I am called to serve as an advocate for women on behalf of Yahweh. God has given me the task of traveling nation to nation speaking God’s truth to women in darkness. A lot of people have questioned my use of the term Women’s Advocate to describe my burden to show women their worth through the work of Jesus Christ. But when I read all of the passages in the Bible commanding us to look out for and care for women and children – advocate is the best descriptor.

Exodus 22:22-24 “You shall not mistreat any widow or fatherless child. If you do mistreat them, and they cry out to me, I will surely hear their cry, and my wrath will burn.”

Deuteronomy 10:17-21 “For the LORD your God is God of gods. . . . He administers justice for the fatherless and the widow, and loves the stranger, giving him food and clothing.”

Psalm 68: 4-6 “Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation.”

Isaiah 1:17 “Seek justice, rebuke the oppressor, defend the fatherless, plead for the widow.”

James 1:29 “Pure and undefiled religion before God and the Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their trouble and to keep oneself unblemished by the world.”

Those who oppress women say that women are not worth the same as men. That is a lie of Satan. You and I have worth, as women, because we were made in the image of God. Men have worth because they were created in the image of God. Worth is not based on function, gender, or ability to contribute to society. Life is sacred because it was created by God in His image (Genesis 1:27).

The ultimate problem, root cause, of female oppression is not men – it is sin. Sin entered the world in Genesis 2 and corrupted God’s perfectly designed relationship between man and woman. Man and woman, equally serving God. Man as head and woman as helpmeet. That intricate and beautiful design for men, women and marriage was corrupted into a master/servant relationship that oppresses women. It is when we become free of sin through the saving work of Jesus Christ that we are able to embrace our worth as women.

The truth is that women are being oppressed all over the world – even in your neighborhood. These women matter. They are my friends. They are your friends. I hurt for them. Telling their stories breaks my heart. Praying for them makes me cry. The fighter in me wants to take on the world and make it recognize the worth of women, but the Holy Spirit in me compels me to teach these women their worth because of who their Creator is and what He created to be. The ultimate way to do that is Jesus Christ.

My contribution to this blog will seek to explore the three progressive levels of being a woman of God.
1. Identity: Understanding who we are in Christ as women.
2. World: Building lives founded in the knowledge of Christ and His world.
3. Mission: Sharing that knowledge to the women of the world; that they too may know what they are worth and why.

5 thoughts on “What Are Women Worth?

  1. Many women (and, sadly, most men) may wonder why a man is reading and participating in this new blog. “Manly” men would never give a second glance to a “women’s” blog. My answer to this sentiment is short and simple: Hogwash!

    As a male Christ-follower, I completely subscribe to the Scriptural Truth that men and women are equally commanded, and equally equipped, to proclaim the Gospel to a hurting world. Further, I submit that women are uniquely qualified to minister to women, just as men are so equipped to serve each other in certain areas. There are women’s issues, emotions and circumstances that I cannot hope to comprehend or understand. This statement doesn’t preclude my having or desiring empathy with my sisters in Christ; it just admits that I have no shared experience from which to relate.

    As Gabrielle says and I agrree, too often the male of the species pictures himself as the master and his “woman” as his servant. Again I say hogwash! My prayer is that all men will someday soon stop beating our chests and start heeding our hearts.

    Indeed, Genesis tells us that we’re ALL created in God’s image. I recall no Scriptural reference to a second set of standards for this measurement. May God bless us all.

  2. WOW! I just wanted to say “Thank You” for taking the time to create this site! I totally agree with you that women all around us, need to know & understand how much they TRULY are LOVED BY THE LORD. No matter what we have in our past, He loves us anyway. MORE than we can comprehend. I have a strong desire to see more of us women fulfilling our roles as wives and mothers the way God intended us to. According to 1 Peter 3. Living in today’s BUST world & trying to keep up with everything & I guess everyone, makes it hard for us to SLOW DOWN and devote the time to our families that they need. I can think of NO OTHER GREATER ROLE I’d rather have than to SERVE my family first, as well as serving those all around us. I think it’s soo much FUN to be a woman, even though we have an ABUNDANCE of responsibilites & our role is sooooooooooo important.
    SO AGAIN, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for pouring your time into women & helping us to KEEP OUR EYES ON THE LORD & FOLLOW THROUGH (Heb 12:2) and NOT TO GROW WEARY IN DOING GOOD (Gal 6:9)
    -Bettina

  3. THis has blessed me at least for today. Thanks, I’ll keep checking in – as healthy and needed as this is for women, it makes me think MEN need the same thing; but I’m not sure (since perspective is so different of them) that any of them would recognize enough need for it… It’d have to be done so appropriately, as it seems the common feel is that they “don’t NEED this kind of thing” – “Just a good, helpful thing for women” …just thoughts.

    May this bless all those involved as well as readers!

  4. I agreed with your article immensely. I have worked with girls on the streets of NYC through GEMS (Girls Educational and Mentoring Services) through Fordham University. I am grateful that some Christian women have taken up this cause. I am not a Christian per say but I am open-minded and a seeker. Best wishes!

  5. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

