You Know You’re a Servant When…

youknowyoureaservantFrom Nancy Leigh DeMoss’ Leadership Session at The True Woman 2010 Conference

I was slapped in the face this afternoon. Not literally, don’t worry. But spiritually-speaking, I had a silent little “Come to Jesus” meeting in the middle of a crowded room of women. Nancy Leigh DeMoss was speaking about the Marks of True Ministry and I was whole-heartedly agreeing with her when she said they would be Word-driven, Christ-centered, Gospel-drenched, and Spirit-empowered. But when she got to Servant-hearted, a little part of me cringed.

Being a servant is against every natural fiber of my being. In fact, the slap in the face occurred right after Nancy said, “If you want to know if you have a servant’s heart, watch how you react when people treat you like a servant.” The previous one day of my life immediately flashed before my mind. It was hurried like so many other days, yet this particular day comprised of particular hours that were not my finest moments. They included having to clean up someone else’s mess (and silently grumbling about it), checking things off my “to-do” list (only to hesitantly take on one more thing cause I knew it had to be done), being rushed out of the house to get to the conference (and telling off every car that got in my way), and forgetting to call my hurting friend back (cause I just didn’t have “the time”).

“If you want to know if you have a servant’s heart, watch how you react when people treat you like a servant.” SLAP. I sat there convicted about how I had spent the previous 24 hours of my life. I had “served” in my actions, but my heart was not Servant-hearted. My attitude was NOT Christ-like:

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross!” – Philippians 2:3-8

“You’re never more like Christ than when you serve others.”

3 thoughts on “You Know You’re a Servant When…

  1. WOW! Thank you! I too share in the SLAP in the face (in a good way…LOL).

    Also, I just want you to know that your blogs truely bless me! Thank you to you four ladies for unashamedly sharing the Word or truth! I have shared many of your posts with others. Also, I so wanted to attend the True Womanhood Conference but just couldn’t get away so since you are making several posts I almost feel like I’m partly there!

    Again, thank you for preaching the WORD! God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

