Billy Ray Cyrus Regrets Being a Friend to Miley

Since she was 14, Miley Cyrus, pop star phenomenon to young girls, has made the celebrity headlines numerous times for provocative  photos that were leaked after she had been sexting, pole dancing on stage, and her boyfriend relationships. Her 18th birthday was even more scandalous when she was caught drinking and making out with a boy in the bar hosting her party. More recently, she’s made the headlines for a video featuring her and her friends smoking the hallucinogenic herb salvia.

With so many scandals surrounding such a young woman, many wondered where were her parents? Why wasn’t her behavior being monitored and guided by her parents?  Well in a recent interview in GQ Magazine, Billy Ray Cyrus candidly opens up about his parenting mistakes, how the show Hannah Montana “destroyed” their family and eventually led to he and his wife filing for divorce in 2010.

Cyrus said, “How many interviews did I give and say, ‘You know what’s important between me and Miley is I try to be a friend to my kids’? I said it a lot. And sometimes I would even read other parents might say, ‘You don’t need to be a friend, you need to be a parent.’ Well, I’m the first guy to say to them right now: You were right. I should have been a better parent. I should have said, ‘Enough is enough–it’s getting dangerous and somebody’s going to get hurt.’ I should have, but I didn’t. Honestly, I didn’t know the ball was out of bounds until it was way up in the stands somewhere.”

Mr. Cyrus also told the magazine he was never capable of disciplining his six children and decided he’d no longer have a role in Miley’s public behavior when it was decided her 18th birthday party would be held at a bar.

We’ve seen in this celebrity family that being friends with your kids doesn’t work but can everyday, normal parents be friends with their kids? Is it more important to be their friend, their parent, or can you have a balance of both?

One thought on “Billy Ray Cyrus Regrets Being a Friend to Miley

  1. I did not become my “friends” with my parents until I was an adult living outside of the family home. As long as I was under their roof, they were still my parents and I had to follow their household rules (it didn’t matter my age). I think that’s the way it should be!

Leave a Reply

