Unlocking Femininity’s Recommended Reading

I was wondering if there were any good reads that ya’ll would recommend?

~ Emily

That is a great question! All four of us at Unlocking Femininity are avid readers and have many favorite books. But here are a few that we wholeheartedly recommend.

Sarah: There are a handful of books that I could suggest that changed me at pivotal points throughout my life.  But if I had to narrow it down to just one, it would be: The Saving Life of Christ by Major Ian Thomas.  It is an excellent book for personal growth and discipleship.  Major Ian Thomas goes chronologically through the high and low points of Israel’s history, from the exile in Egypt to the promise land of Canaan.  He then relates it to Christ and all the promise that He fulfills and really brings out how the saving life of Christ given in the New Testament can be seen in the Old.  This book is recommended for the growing, thriving student who wants a deeper understanding of all that Christ has done, and the beautiful ways He fulfills His promises.

A book that most impacted me as a woman would have to be Jackie Kendall and Debby Jones’ Lady In Waiting: Becoming God’s best while waiting for Mr. Right. This is an excellent resource for a women struggling with singleness.  Kendall and Jones work to focus the reader on all that a single woman CAN do in her life, ministry, and community.  With thought-provoking questions at the end of each chapter and a positive approach throughout, the authors desire the reader to really apply themselves and make the study at the end to be revealing of where they are at in this struggle.  The best way to get the most out of this book is to be really personal and honest with your answers at the end of each section.  I treated my copy almost like it was a diary that I would DIE if anybody read.  I got so much out of it though because of it.  I was able to really see the areas that I most struggled with in regards to this topic.

Diane: My first choice is Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper. This book was given to me by a dear friend when I was really wanting to grow deeper in my Christian walk. It changed the way I understood my sin and God’s holiness and how much of my life is spent pleasing myself and not glorifying the Lord. It was an incredibly convicting and encouraging book. It cuts straight to the point of our depravity and how to live your life with Christ as your utmost passion.

I also loved When Sinners Say I Do by Dave Harvey. I read this book last year in preparation for marriage. It opened my eyes up to what marriage is really about: two sinful people living out the gospel through marriage. It helped me understand how much grace and mercy I should have towards my husband because of Christ’s grace towards me. Harvey does a wonderful job of giving biblical depth but practical application to the journey of marriage.

Gabrielle: I am weird and usually read 5 books at a time, so narrowing it down is a struggle for me…. but in my journey from girl to woman there were two books that really gave me direction into God’s plan for womanhood. The first is Let Me Be a Woman by Elizabeth Elliot. It is a short book of advice to her daughter on being a woman – I have two copies…. one that I share and one full of notes that no one else can see! Also, during college I first read Lies Women Believe by Nancy Leigh Demoss – and it really opened my eyes to a lot of ways that Satan holds us captive as women and gave me a great deal of freedom in Jesus Christ.

My most recent “favorite” is Radical by David Platt. It really challenged me to take my relationship with Jesus to a place of total surrender and wholehearted obedience to the Word of God. Every chapter was wildly convicting to me – so be warned. 🙂

Katie: Evangelical Feminism by Wayne Grudem is a must-read for every Christian woman who wants to know what she believes and why she believes it on the question of women’s roles. We’ve all read a lot of books on this topic and Evangelical Feminism stands out as one of our favorites! For all of its theological depth, it’s an approachable and fascinating read that gives a solid understanding on a hot-button issue in the church.

Dreams of a Woman by Sharon Jaynes is a beautiful look at how we women all have many common “dreams” – to have a daddy who loves me, to be a bride, to be a mother, to be beautiful and to have a best friend. Jaynes also talks about some biblical women who had dreams of their own, how to pick up the pieces of your shattered dreams and discovering God’s dreams for you. It’s a sweet book about the intimate and hidden hopes of the heart.

Also, I’ve just started going through an incredible 31-day devotional called Comforts from the Cross by Elise Fitzpatrick. It’s just a one-and-a-half page each day book about how Jesus’ death, resurrection and coming return show us the depth of God’s love for us. The book is like an invitation to meditate deeply on the reality of all that Christ accomplished on our behalf and to see ourselves as the precious, loved, spotless Bride that we are in Him.

Hope this book list gets you started!

2 thoughts on “Unlocking Femininity’s Recommended Reading

  1. Great suggestions! I read several of those books and enjoyed them very much, as well. “Feminine Appeal” by Carolyn Mahaney, “Sacred Influence” by Gary Thomas, and “Forgotten God” by Francis Chan are also some great reads! And for fiction, I really loved The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers.

  2. One of my favorites along these lines of relationship building is “Bonds That Make Us Free: Healing Our Relationships, Coming to Ourselves,” by Terry Warner.

    It highlights that we all have blindspots to our own weaknesses and imperfections, and that we’ll be more likely to both improve ourselves, and also improve our relationships with others, if we’ll focus on what we can individually do better, rather than what others can do.

    Very similar to Jesus’ counsel about the mote in others’ eyes vs. the beam in our own eyes.

    It’s some powerful thinking that influenced my posts like: You’re the Man! Don’t Whine. .

Leave a Reply

