The Cure for Spiritual Exhaustion

I was standing in the kitchen, surrounded by two of my closest girl friends, sobbing “I don’t know how much more I can take.” In a two week span, it had felt like I had more attacks from Satan than in the past 2 years. Literally every few hours there would be one more hit, one more sucker-punch to my soul. Each one left me more out of strength than the last. It had me questioning my character, my calling, even my personality. It was the most intense, most exhausting testing of my faith I had experienced thus far.

We’ve all been there; the times when everything seems to be coming at us at once. The kids are constantly fighting, you have 3 tests in one week, there was a huge miscommunication with your boyfriend, work is piling up and never seems to end, or a woman at church seems to have a bone to pick with you. It’s like they say, “When it rains, it pours.” How are we, as women, to stay afloat when the floods of attacks, trials, and problems are pouring down in our lives? What do we do when we’re spiritually and emotionally exhausted?

Pray

When I’m spiritually overwhelmed and, at times distraught, all I can do is cry out in my heart or with my mouth to the Lord. So many times David did the same thing. When he was burdened, persecuted, or tired he would cry out to his God (Ps.57:2; 69; 88:1; 130:1; 142:1). When we’re in the absolute depths, when the waters of life are drowning us, we need to cry out to be saved! God is ready and waiting like a lifeguard at the beach. He just needs to hear us cry for help and He will come lift us up out of the waters drowning us.  The Lord is faithful to save us!

When the righteous cry for help, the LORD hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The LORD is near tothe brokenhearted and savesthe crushed in spirit. Ps.34:17-18

Wait

Though the Lord will save us from the overpowering attacks Satan may throw at us, we have something we’re called to do: be patient and wait. When there seems to be no end in sight to the drama, the personal attacks, or the responsibilities, we can’t freak out. So many times, I wanted to throw my hands up in the air and say, “I give up. I’m done. I can’t handle anymore God!” It was at those times when a small, comforting voice would say to me, “Be patient, my child. I will give you rest if you’ll trust me.” We must be patient, trust in the Lord, and hope in Him until deliverance comes (Ps.39:7; 40:1).

Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD! Ps.31:24

Our soul waits for the LORD, He is our help and our shield. Ps. 33:20

Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way,over the man who carries out evil devices! Ps. 37:7

Immerse

When we are patiently waiting for deliverance, we must immerse ourselves in God’s Word. It will gives us hope, strength, and refreshment which our exhausted souls thirst for. During those two weeks of spiritual exhaustion for me, my quiet times were the most enjoyable and precious  times. They restored my soul!

The law of the LORD is perfect, reviving the soul… Ps.19:7

My soul clings to the dust; give me lifeaccording to your word! Ps.119:25

I long for your salvation, O LORD,and your law is my delight.Ps.119:27

Times of refreshment and restoration come from spending time with the Lord and that comes through spending time in His Word (Acts 3:20). Righteousness brings healing and refreshment and the only way to know how to be righteous is through knowing Scriptures (Prov.3:7-9).

If work seems to be unbearable this week, spend 10 minutes reading and meditating on His Word and I promise it will change your whole day in the office. If the kids are making you want to give them away to your neighbors, spend just a few minutes reading a Psalm before they wake up and it will change your heart immediately.  If it seems as though everyone has something negative to say to you, go to God’s Word for wisdom to test if what they’re saying is true. When you approach it in humility, Scripture will always restore your heart, give you a new attitude, and replenish your strength.

Surround

To help me get through my exhausted state, I had to go to the people I knew would encourage, love, and give me wisdom. Those people were my best friends and husband. They let me sob on their shoulders, they gave me Scriptures to meditate on, and they bore my burdens with me.

…With all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace. Eph.4:2-3

Most importantly though, they reminded me of Christ’s arms that were ready and open for me to collapse in. His arms  were the best thing that surrounded me that whole time. God wants you to cast your burdens on Him (Ps.55:22; 1Pet. 5:7) because He loves you so much! He wants to be your strength (Eph.3), your hope, and your Salvation. If you have not experienced the peace, hope, and salvation that comes through Jesus Christ, I urge you to seek the only Lord of heaven and earth (Acts 4:12)! He desires you to be a child of God, no longer living in darkness and despair.

God demonstrated His love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Rom. 5:8

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. Rom. 10:9

For my sisters who know Christ as their Savior but don’t know how they’re going to make it spiritually through the next day, I want to encourage you to keep the hope that’s within you, trust in the Lord’s saving power, and know that His mercies are new every morning! You will get through this and you will be victorious in Christ Jesus!

May you be strengthened with all power, according to His glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy. Col.1:11

Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Rom.12:12

God is faithful to deliver in His perfect timing! I made it through those couple of weeks of intense testing and exhaustion but I am now refreshed by Christ  and strengthened for any spiritual challenges that will come next! You can make it too, my sister! Just call out to your Lord, wait on His deliverance, immerse yourself in His Words, and surround yourself with His people!

4 thoughts on “The Cure for Spiritual Exhaustion

  1. This is *exactly* what I’ve been going through for the past 2 weeks as well. A spiritual exhaustion so intense and so strong, that I felt so depleted, hurt, and lonely – and ready to give up. I found my only strength and comfort in the Word & it was there that the Lord encouraged me to wait patiently for His reviving provision. He never left me & has comforted me every step of the way. I’ve yet to come out of this craziness, but praise God that He’s been here, allowed me to identify it, and taught me how I’m going to get through it. I wait for the day that the clouds will part & I will come out of this refreshed and renewed. Thanks so much for posting this! It’s so encouraging to read!! God bless you.

  2. Pingback: Exhausted souls | Sfmlsdeals

  3. What if it’s not been for two weeks, or even two months, but for 3 years? I’m at the point where I have just about given up, my prayers don’t seem to be getting answered, and I have never felt so lost, alone, or confused. I know I should wait patiently on the Lord, and I’ve been waiting for the Lord to deliver me from all the misery and strife but I’m at the breaking point, mentally and spiritually. I just can’t take anymore.

    • Hi Pert,
      My heart definitely goes out to you, as it sounds like you have a lot of weight on your shoulders. I don’t know what things have been happening which have added so much stress and so my response is solely based on your comment.
      Many times we have to change some of our expectations about what God is going do with our lives and what He’s going to allow to happen. He promised that this life wasn’t going to be easy and it is going to be filled with many, many trials. God always answers our prayers but sometimes He answers it by not delivering you from the stresses and hardships of this life so you will lay these things at His feet and find your strength in Him. His presence is your deliverance but that doesn’t mean He always makes the issues go away.

      David’s life was filled with attacks, hardships, and pain but he continually sought the Lord through these times and he found strength, peace, and joy even when the trials were still in his life.

      When God doesn’t take away the bad things then you have to trust Him with these situations, that He will work them according to His will which is ultimately for your good. You may want deliverance now, but in many cases, God has promised us difficulty in this life; however, this life of suffering is followed by one where Jesus will wipe away every tear from His followers’eyes. The Lord never wants you to go through these things alone, carrying a burden which is impossible in our human strength; He wants you to rely on Him, trust Him, and allow Him to lovingly take the burden from you and carry it Himself. The burdens of this life will always be there but you have a God who loves you and wants to help carry you through them. I pray that you find joy and renewal in His presence once again, with or without the trials of this world.

      Your sister in Christ,
      Diane

Leave a Reply

