What Would Jesus Do about Casey Anthony?

Fullscreen capture 7112011 113518 PMCasey Anthony.

Arguably the most hated woman of the decade.

In spite of the not-guilty verdict handed down at her trial last Tuesday, an overwhelming majority of the country believe the 25-year-old is guilty of abusing and murdering her two-year-old daughter Caylee. Due for release from prison in just a week (July 17), the newly free Ms. Anthony won’t find many waiting with arms open wide.

One of her lawyers admitted that he fears for Casey’s safety, “It’s as much her country as anybody else’s,” Mason told Savannah Guthrie on the “Today” show Monday. “She just needs to have some time and counseling … She’s been in lockdown for 23 hours a day for three years.”

People everywhere are left feeling that justice was not served. Christians are outraged that the death of this little girl will not be avenged. Facebook blew up with comments of hatred, disgust and loathing as people posted their reactions to the verdict.

I admit, I’ve stayed on the sidelines of this fight, more out of shock at the frenzied reaction than lack of an opinion. But days later, as I sit here thinking and praying over this awful story, it hits me that many Christians have jumped into the fray of a vigilante mob out for vengeance before stopping to ask what Jesus would have them do about Casey Anthony.

So, my Christian readers, what would Jesus do and say about Casey Anthony? How would our Savior respond? In grief (Mt. 19:13-15)? In justice (Ex. 20:13)? In forgiveness (1 Jn. 1:9)? In love (Mt. 5:43-48)? In repentance (Jn. 8:1-11)? In judgment (Rev. 20:11-15)?

What Scriptures do you think apply to the Casey Anthony situation? How are we, as followers of Christ, to respond? What should our stance be to the world? We want to know what you think…

12 thoughts on “What Would Jesus Do about Casey Anthony?

  1. “Gracious and Loving God, I ask that you heal the hearts of those involved in this trial. May they come to walk in your love, grace, peace, mercy, and joy. Lift up the Anthony family as they begin this difficult process towards reconciliation. I pray that you transform our hearts, minds, and hands to be a people that thirst for you justice, in the many ways in which our world oppresses, violates, and condemns. Forgive us for judging the circumstances and lead us into prayerful attitude for your justice to come for all your people. Amen”

    For my take on the intersections of faith and Casey Anthony trial/verdict, please see my personal blog linked below. http://sarabayles.blogspot.com/2011/07/but-if-you-have-come-because-your.html

  2. Thanks for reminding us to take a time out before judging Casey. I, like you, watched FB and Twitter swirl around comments which seemed to quickly turn into a lynchmob.

    I admit, my very first thought from Tuesday’s windfall was that indeed if she IS guilty, she will one day give an answer to the Lord, and my heart hurt thinking about that. One thing that I think we as humans really struggle with is the understanding that to the Lord, there’s no “degree” of sin. Sin is sin, and ANY sin separates us from God. To Him, the vilest, darkest thought that takes up residence in our hearts and minds, completely unknown to others, distances us just as much as the killing of an innocent child (just as much as killing a ruthless terrorist, for that matter). Humanity does classify wrongs – warnings, tickets, misdemeanors, felonys, death penalty, but the Lord doesn’t. So, let’s assume for a minute that Casey is guilty. We might judge Casey based on the foulness of the crime committed, but the crime hasn’t distanced her any further from God than our sins distance us. So the Lord looks at her as equally blemished as us. However he judges her, he also judges us. But Casey is able to be redeemed through that same hope that has redeemed us – Christ alone. And just like Isaiah 30:18 promises, the Lord longs to be gracious to her, and rises to show her compassion as well.

    Thanks again for this post!

  3. All I can do is internalize the lesson, personally. I’m a Christian.

    If we assume that Casey Anthony got off scott-free, and she really WAS guilty … then justice wasn’t served, and the system failed.

    However, God’s grace isn’t like that. His system doesn’t fail. His judgements are good, and right, and fair. And for Him to say that because Jesus Christ died for my sins, I am off scott- free … it is because Christ bore the wrath of God and my just punishment for me, and for anyone who would believe.

    That didn’t come lightly. Christ died a death he didn’t deserve, and bore the punishment of my sins past, present, and future on the cross, to save His people from their sins. And I think I am waking up more each day to the reality of the craziness of this grace in my life, that God would even save me when I cried out for mercy, and believed in Christ for salvation, and welcome me into this salvation just because I was needy of it and asked Him for it. I definitely didn’t deserve it.

    And God didn’t just give me a future salvation, that I would live in Heaven with Him when I died. I just don’t have my punitive damages paid; I am also reconciled to God, who made me and who controls and governs all things according to his wisdom and desire, and who gives me a reason to live my life and a hope that keeps me secure no matter what life throws at me.

    I’m a little felon, myself, and the judge and jailer himself paid my penalty. And not only did I get out of jail, I was also adopted into the judge’s family and promised a great future reward. Crazy. What a good, righteous, loving, just, kind, and gracious God. What a crazy, seemingly irrational, “foolish,” but absolutely glorious grace shown to me by the only completely Just Judge.

  4. I have been wondering the same thing! Although there is obviously evidence of foul play in the death of this precious two year old… and much to be desired in the lifestyle and attitude of Casey Anthony… I keep coming back to the fact that she was tried by a jury of her peers and they did not find enough evidence to convict her. (I don’t understand, but I wasn’t there!) In this country we have a Justice System. Sometimes it works, sometimes not so much. Innocent men have been convicted of crimes they did not commit. Where is our outrage at the lost years they suffered unjustly?

    I guess my point is that like it or not, it’s done. The Bible tells us to submit to governmental authority. Our response should bring glory to God. We as Christians should respond honorably in every situation. I will begin by praying for Casey-she needs God’s mercy and grace- for her parents-they have been disgraced-and for the jurors-they have served to the best of their ability and received death threats!

  5. I would also like to point out, that God knew, when He created that baby, what was going to happen to her in the end. So does the way her life ended, mean that God chose wrong, when He chose Casey to be her mother? it’s a very good reminder to me to be under the Spirit’s control.

  6. Court found Casey Anthony not guilty of any crime except lying. Simple as that. If anyone thinks otherwise, they need to get some mental-help imo because they may have been brainwashed by CNN by their incorrect reporting.

  7. FOR THE CHILDREN:

    But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better if a millstone were hanged around his neck, and that he drowned in the depth of the sea.

    God is not mocked whatsoever a man sowth he shall also reap.

    The bible says judge yourself lest you be judged. Casey Anthony would never stop to judge herself and therefore the Higher Court will judge her. I shudder to think of anyone sowing off of Caylee’s blood. GOD IS NOT MOCKED!!!! Every car, piece of clothing, house, makeup, furniture, etc that Casey Anthony buys off of Caylee’s tragedy will be stained with Caylee’s blood and anyone else who cashing in on this. Casey Anthony had murder in her heart before it happened with her hands. And out of the abundance of the heart the mouth will speak and we all know that Casey Anthony’s mouth speaks lies and the condition of her heart is revealed. Baby Caylee should have had her face covered in kisses but Caylee’s face was instead covered in duct tape. As a mother I kissed my babies boo boos when they got hurt and I would never think of killing them and triple bagging them and letting scavengers devour them and gnaw on their bodies that once that same tender little baby was carried in my body. Yes we have no right to judge but you can’t be blind of the truth and I need to call a spade a spade. We all have a free will and unless Casey Anthony gets a heart she will NEVER have remorse for killing Caylee. It’s a Choice. And for that God himself will have the last word. This jury didn’t find her guilty but they don’t have the infinite wisdom God does and neither the Omnipotence and therefore His Truth will stand up for Caylee and all the murdered children.

  8. I am from NZ. Our country has one of the highest rates of sexual child abuse and child murder in the western world. I am glad that the LADY named ‘NANCY’ from the comment posted on July the 15th isn’t God!

    I am outraged by Nancy’s self righteous comments and the judgements she swings at this woman.

    The reason why NANCY has no empathy or compassion for the woman who allegedly killed her own child is that her heart has never been sifted by God to the point where she has been brought to the end of herself. Woman in Cambodia are selling their daughters into the sex industry at the age of 6 months old…are these mothers also inhumane? Cambodian mothers are selling off one child so the other five will have enough food to survive.

    These mothers are in extreme situations that don’t know God. They are making decisions of survival. Maybe the woman that abused her child didn’t understand she had a choice because of her own personal traumas and abuse.

    Only a woman who has been born into extreme abuse and emotional neglect could disconnect from her emotions to a point where she is incapable of feeling love understanding it or expressing it. The question needs to be asked at what point did this woman become so de-humanized in her own life, that life itself had no value. I believe this woman has operated in a mode of survival called detachment.

    I am in no way endorsing or commending this woman’s behavior, but biblically….when the woman was found in adultery.. the Lord caught her in sin and never judged her… he released her. It was His unconditional love that brought truth and enabled her to walk and ‘sin no more’ without judgement.

    I believe its an immature response to condemn this woman who abused her child.

    The ‘Nancy’s of this world need to realize that every person exists because of Grace alone. Each and every one of us have been born into sin, some good families and some bad families. Each one of us is a direct product of that upbringing.

    Every sin is the same in the eyes of Christ…whether it be murder or a lie no matter how big or small. Its all sin.

    All the Nancy’s of this world need to know ….that they are no better or no worse than the woman who abused her child in terms of redemption and judgement.

    Its by the Blood that we are free and are cleansed.
    Its a gift, that we can’t work for and that we don’t deserve.

    I pray that Nancy and others like her,… in their safe cosy worlds get a revelation of the unconditional love of Christ.

    • Melissa, I bet you are really Cindy Anthony!!! You are so full of yourself. You speak about God and you condemn others who don’t agree with you. Get over yourself and shame on you for not standing up for Caylee!

    • Melissa, let me just thank you for giving me the satisfaction that the Truth I spoke struck a nerve with you. The words you have written send a message that although you don’t believe in abortion you do believe it’s okay to kill the children later. I think you are very selective in speaking of God’s word when you mention the woman caught in adultery and you forget when Jesus spoke to the pharisees. I am just THANKFUL you are not God because it is obvious you do not have His infinite wisdom or any wisdom for that matter. The religious were upset when Jesus spoke the Truth and from the looks of it so are you. Casey Anthony knows about God’s word when Richard Grund who is a pastor and minister spoke to her about it and yet even after that Casey Anthony rejected it for jealousy because she told Jesse Grund that he loved Caylee more than her. What a piece of work! Who wouldn’t want the man you’re going to marry to love your children. So Casey Anthony KNOWS the truth of God’s word but chose jealousy instead, and soon after the jealously over Caylee came the Murder of Caylee. She made a Choice! Melissa, I pray God opens your eyes to see Truth and not use God’s Grace to make your arguement sound reasonable, which it doesn’t.

      Oh yes, and you flatter me when you say the “Nancys” of the world. Yes I agree, I hope more people speak Truth to the blind like you.

  9. What about Caylee, what about her suffering, horor , loneliness and pain. She did give Caylee chloroform, she wrote that in one of her letters to her inmate: ” Caylee had a hard time sleeping, I used to give her chloroform”. We know that for sure, it is not a tape that allegedly “Roy Kronk put on her skull”, not the partying out of grieve, this is her own confession. Do you thing God doesn’t see the difference between a child abuser and someone who abused their own bodies? God is fair, a lot more fair than the jury and all of us. So don’t say that we are all equally sinful, and please don’t confuse ignorance with grace,

Leave a Reply

