You Want Me To Give Up What?

Whoa, whoa, whoa God. You want me to give up what? You want me to give up my closet full of beautiful clothes, shoes, and bags? You want me to give up girl’s nights with my best buds? Wait, there’s no way you want me to give up my adorable, cuddly dog Roxie…..and my family too!?! What could possibly be worth giving up the most precious, fun things in my life?

Those questions have crossed my mind more than a few times over the past few months as Alex and I are preparing to go overseas. What is this all for? Why am I giving up everything that I love? What could be worth the pain and sadness I’m feeling right now? And God always replies with the same answer: The Gospel. With just two words and a handful of conviction all up in my face I’m back on track and focused on the most important thing in this world: telling others about the hope only found in Jesus Christ.

I’m not leaving the US because I don’t like the government, the economy, or people here. I’m leaving all that I know and love to embrace a people who have yet to hear about the Good News of Jesus Christ.  God saved me from eternal death and now it’s my turn to go tell others what Christ did for me and what He can do for everyone else too. But this isn’t just a “call” for me, it’s an obligation for all believers in Jesus Christ. All women of God are called to evangelism. All women are commanded to tell the Good News of Jesus Christ to those living in darkness (Acts. 26:16-18; Ti. 2). It is our duty and our purpose.

 

We’re All Called to Missions 

Do you want to know the sign of a woman who has been truly transformed by Jesus Christ? She can’t help but tell others about the Gospel and it’s power to save whoever believes in Jesus. God works through transformed men and women to show others the greatest love the world has ever known: Jesus dying on the cross so we could have eternal life with him. (John 3:16) The Gospel must be proclaimed and it must be proclaimed everywhere! (Mk.13:10) You, as a daughter of God, are called to be a missionary throughout the world, whether that world is your neighborhood, workplace, or a country thousands of miles away.

Proclaiming Christ crucified to a lost and dying world is our obligation and should be our heart beat, if Christ is working through us. We live for Christ because He saved us and Christ lived so that others might be saved.  That was His purpose and our purpose should be the same: “to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.” (Acts 20:24)

We’re all called to missions because there’s too much at stake if we don’t fulfill the Great Commission- souls will live without God for eternity. As believers we’re supposed to endure anything so that the spreading of the gospel of Christ is not hindered. (1 Cor.9:12) That means if your fears, your possessions, your relationships, or anything else is preventing you from telling others about Jesus then it must be set aside for the sake of the Gospel.

 

And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.- Mk. 16:15-16


But Is It Really Worth It?

I’ve found myself wondering this very question and I know it will continue to cross my mind while on the foreign mission field but I have to keep reminded myself of this truth: “If one person can be saved from death and live with Christ eternally isn’t that worth giving up some clothes, a dog and even family?”  Christ sacrificed everything for us so what small task is it to sacrifice our earthly lives in order that others might gain eternal life?

Is it scary sometimes? Of course! Does it require some painful sacrifice sometimes? Absolutely. But God is faithful to all who will obey His commands for “whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it. For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?”- Mk. 8:35-36

There is always a personal sacrifice when people’s souls are on the line but if we don’t sacrifice for their sake then who else will? If we won’t tell our lost family, our lost coworker, our lost family member about the Gospel, then who will? How can they be saved if they have not heard? (Rom. 10:14)

God isn’t asking you to live life in despair for Christ but He’s asking you to live life to the fullest knowing that others are hearing about the name that saves! There is joy unspeakable when someone comes to Christ and that makes it all worth it to share with them the blessings of the Gospel. (1 Cor.9:22-23) Earthly sacrifices are worth it for eternal gain!

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. Matt. 28:19

Over the next few weeks, Alex and I will be downsizing our life to 4 suitcases and a couple of trunks. We will be saying goodbye to all of our friends and family, some for the last time. And when the tears come and my flesh wants to take it all back, I will have to continually remind myself of how Christ saved and transformed my life and that He’s asked me to be a witness of His grace to the world. When I get to meet college girls from indigenous tribes and tell them about a Savior that can give them hope and train them to be godly women who will further the kingdom then I know it will be worth everything I’ve given up!

All nations, all people, need to hear about what Christ did on the cross that saved us from the condemnation of our sins. So what will you do? Will you be a woman who raises up, stands strong, and does all for the sake of the Gospel? Will you join me in the race, striving together for the Gospel, praying that Christ would be proclaimed to all peoples and nations?

3 thoughts on “You Want Me To Give Up What?

    • You can totally do something like it! God equips and strengthens everyone to do His service otherwise I wouldn’t be able to do it either. 🙂 We’ll be going to South America and we’re thrilled!

  1. Que bueno!! I have always had a heart for missions, even before I was saved. My mother asked me when I was 6 what I wanted to do when I was older and I said I want to live in ALGERIA!! Hahaha. Many years later, my desire for evangelism hasn’t changed. In fact it has strengthened even more so as a believer. I can’t keep my mouth shut. My situation is slightly different in that I am single mother and I often wonder about missions for someone in my position who has this strong desire that hasn’t waned. Missions is not as limited as it used to be thought of (off to the Amazon jungle or remote areas of Mongolia); it is quite varied now. Right now I am sharing the gospel to someone in a prison in Portugal. I visit family in Cuba during my times off from work to share. Maybe one day the Lord will have me pick up and leave permanently, in the meantime He needs me where I am now.

Leave a Reply

