Happy Birthday Unlocking Femininity

happybirthdayufJust three short years ago, a rather clueless group of seminary girls started a blog… and God has done crazy, amazing, mind-blowing things since then.

Who can forget Sarah’s infamous reaction to the initial idea, “Ha! I’m not the blogging type!” I remember the group email discussions (I was serving in Southeast Asia at the time) and the Skype chats trying to decide if it would be worth the added time commitment. And after weeks of talk and prayer, we each decided that God wanted us to do something with all that we were learning in seminary – and make that knowledge available to women around the world.

As newbies to the blogosphere, we set out armed only with laptops and the conviction of 1 Tim 6:20–21, “Timothy, guard and keep the deposit entrusted [to you]! Turn away from the irreverent babble and godless chatter, with the vain and empty and worldly phrases, and the subtleties and the contradictions in what is falsely called knowledge and spiritual illumination. [For] by making such profession some have erred (missed the mark) as regards the faith.”

As I look back to those early days – a time when it took 2 weeks to write a post and 3 editors before we felt confident enough to publish our writings – and pray that we have held true to that biblical guide. I know that each post has grown my faith, convicted my heart and strengthened my walk – and I pray every morning that it has ministered to you, our readers, as well.

Believe me, everything that has happened since then has been ALL GOD! We, the writers, have sat in stunned amazement as people actually read our posts and seemed to be encouraged and challenged. I can safely say that we had no idea what God had in store when we started 3 years ago…

This month, God has been teaching me about gratitude. I am so overwhelmed with all He has done throughout my life – His faithfulness, tenderness, forgiveness, and love – that my prayers start and end with “thank you, God.” And so, on the 3rd birthday of Unlocking Femininity, I want to pause from our usual posts and just thank God for all He has done through this blog.

And we would love to hear from you!

What posts has God used in your life? How has the blog ministered to you, and what could be done better? Is there anything you want to thank God for?

Please share!

One thought on “Happy Birthday Unlocking Femininity

  1. Happy birthday unlocking femininity! For sure this blog has ministered to me oceans away in East Africa. I can’t really pick a favorite (because they’ve all been awesome) but if I have to, it would be posts on biblical singleness and femininity. Keep up the great work ladies. May God always provide you with the wisdom to minister and the humility, strength, faithfulness and devotion needed to be the amazing instruments of His kingdom that you are.

Leave a Reply

